Pricing & comparison
Virtual office software compared: how 8 tools count people and what they cost (Oct 2026)
Most virtual office tools bill per registered member, at US$6 to US$30 per person per month on monthly billing, depending on the tool and the tier. Of the eight tools compared here, six work that way; one (Roam) bills only the members who were active that month, and one (WorkAdventure) bills by how many people are connected at the same time. For a 25-person team on monthly billing, the entry plans of the per-member tools come to US$150 to US$500 a month, before any applicable taxes.
The tables below put the eight tools, and Hotori, on the same columns: what counts as one person, the bill at 10, 25, and 50 people, free plans and trials, and the limit on how many can be inside at once. Every figure comes from the official pricing page (or help center, where noted) read on October 30, 2026. Where a page does not say, the cell says so.
Which tools are compared
In the tables: Gather, Kumospace, SoWork, Teamflow, Roam, Spot, WorkAdventure, and SpatialChat (its Virtual Office plans), plus Hotori, which we make. Teemyco was checked and left out: it is now part of SpatialChat, according to both sites, and its own page lists $8 per user per month billed monthly, $6 billed yearly, and a 14-day trial.
Three ways to count one person
Registered members. Gather, Kumospace, SoWork, Teamflow, Spot, and SpatialChat charge for every member with an account, every month, whether or not they log in, so the bill tracks headcount. Kumospace prorates members added mid-cycle but gives no credit for members removed before the period ends.
Active members. Roam charges $19.50 a month for each member who actually used it that month; inactive seats are not billed, and the page does not define what counts as active. Roam has already published its 2027 rate, $20.88.
People inside at once. WorkAdventure sells “the maximum number of people who can be connected at the same time in your space.” Hotori works the same way: one space holds up to 25 or 50 people at once, and you can register as many members as you like. The two models are compared at length in Flat-rate vs per-seat pricing for a virtual office.
What you pay for, and how many can be inside at once
| Tool | What you pay for | Limit on people inside at once |
|---|---|---|
| Gather (Essential) | Each registered member, per month | Not stated on the official page |
| Kumospace (Business) | Each registered member, per month; minimum 5 | Not stated on the official page |
| SoWork | Each member, per month | No overall limit stated; about 150 per floor, with unlimited floors (FAQ) |
| Teamflow | Each employee, per month | Up to 200 people per floor |
| Roam | Each active member, per month | Not stated on the official page |
| Spot | Each user, per month | Not stated on the official page |
| WorkAdventure | The maximum number of people connected at the same time | The number you buy; the Free plan allows 10, and anyone beyond that is refused access |
| SpatialChat (Virtual Office) | Each user, per month | Free plan: up to 12 participants; paid plans: not stated on the official page |
| Hotori | One space, with a cap on people inside at once | 25 or 50; up to 2 extra can still get in, then newcomers see a “full” message (the owner can always enter) |
Guests, where the pages say: Gather does not count guests as members and includes 3 guest hours per member (minimum 30 hours) in Essential. Kumospace allows 50 guests on Free and Business, each limited to 4 hours a week. SoWork includes 2 guest passes per user per month on Basic and 5 on Premium (as the pricing table shows on a desktop screen). Teamflow allows 10, 15, or 25 guests at a time, by plan. Roam’s guests are free and uncounted. With Hotori, guests count while they are inside; the invite link expires in 1 to 30 days and can take a password.
The monthly bill for 10, 25, and 50 people
Monthly billing, dollar figures as shown on each page (WorkAdventure shows euros in the euro area), before any applicable taxes. “People” means billable units: registered members for most tools, active members for Roam, and people inside at once for WorkAdventure and Hotori.
| Tool and plan | Unit price, monthly billing | 10 people | 25 people | 50 people | Annual billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gather Essential | $15 per member | $150 | $375 | $750 | $12 per member per month |
| Kumospace Business | $20 per user (minimum 5) | $200 | $500 | $1,000 | $16 |
| SoWork Basic | $6 per member | $60 | $150 | $300 | $5.40 |
| SoWork Premium | $15 per member | $150 | $375 | $750 | $12 |
| Teamflow Seed | $20 per employee | $200 | $500 | $1,000 | $15 |
| Teamflow Business | $30 per employee | $300 | $750 | $1,500 | $25 |
| Roam | $19.50 per active member | $195 | $487.50 | $975 | None; monthly billing only, no discounts |
| Spot Basic | $6 per user | $60 | $150 | $300 | $4.80 |
| Spot Growth | $10 per user | $100 | $250 | $500 | $8 |
| WorkAdventure Business | from $9 per concurrent user (see note 1) | from $90 | from $225 | from $450 | The $9 is the yearly rate the page shows by default (8 € in the euro area) |
| SpatialChat Business | $8 per user | $80 | $200 | $400 | $76 per user per year |
| SpatialChat Enterprise | $12 per user | $120 | $300 | $600 | $120 per user per year |
| Hotori Standard (up to 25 at once) | US$39 for the space | US$39 | US$39 | Not enough if all 50 are inside at once | US$390 a year |
| Hotori Business (up to 50 at once) | US$69 for the space | US$69 | US$69 | US$69 | US$599 a year |
Notes on reading the table:
- WorkAdventure’s row is a yearly rate. Its page shows “from $9 per month per user” with yearly billing selected by default; the monthly rate is not quoted here, so that row is not directly comparable with the others. On its Free plan, 10 people at once cost $0.
- Annual discounts. Gather, Kumospace, Teamflow, and Spot state 20% off for yearly billing; SoWork says “up to 20%”; SpatialChat’s yearly toggle says “save up to 40%”.
- Taxes. None of the eight pricing pages states tax, so treat the figures as before any applicable taxes.
- Free tiers cover some of these sizes. SoWork’s Free plan covers 10 members (with a 30-minute meeting limit), WorkAdventure’s covers 10 people at once, and Kumospace’s and Teamflow’s cover 5.
- Bundles differ. Gather Essential includes meeting recordings (starting at 20 hours), transcriptions (starting at 30 hours), and guest hours; extra recording and transcription hours cost $2 and $0.50. Kumospace Business includes recording. SoWork lists 2 meeting recording uses on Basic, and unlimited recordings and AI transcripts on Premium. SpatialChat stores up to 7 meeting recordings on Business and 30 on Enterprise. Hotori has no recording feature and does not save voice, video, or chat.
- Hotori‘s prices. Prices are in US dollars for customers outside Japan, and the final amount is shown at checkout.
Free plans and free trials
| Tool | Free plan | Free trial | Card required for the trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gather | None since September 15, 2025 | 30 days, up to 50 members; afterward, without a subscription, one admin at a time can access the workspace | No |
| Kumospace | Up to 5 registered members, 1 floor | 14 days | The pricing page does not say; the help center says the card on file is charged when the trial ends |
| SoWork | Up to 10 members, 30-minute meeting limit, no recording, analytics, or AI | 7 days | No |
| Teamflow | Up to 5 employees, 45-minute meetings, 10 guests at a time | 7 days | Not stated on the official page |
| Roam | Not stated on the official page | 14 days; every new member gets 14 days before appearing on the bill | No |
| Spot | No ongoing free plan | 30 days | Not stated on the official page |
| WorkAdventure | Up to 10 people connected at once, no time limit | One month of the paid features at sign-up | Not stated on the official page |
| SpatialChat (Virtual Office) | Up to 2 hours of meetings a day, up to 12 participants, 4 rooms | 7 days, by request | Not stated on the official page |
| Hotori | None; two paid plans | 30 days with everything in the paid plans, up to 50 people at once; nothing is charged when it ends | No |
Where Hotori sits in these tables
Hotori is a 2D office that runs in the browser: walk within 3 tiles of a teammate and your voices connect, louder the closer you are; knock with a short note before interrupting; meet in closed rooms with camera, screen share, and room chat; sit at a focus desk when you need quiet. Voice, video, and chat are not saved on the servers, and there is no recording feature. It is made in Tokyo by a small team, with servers in Japan, so voice works best in Japan, across Asia-Pacific, and on the West Coast of North America; it is not offered in the EU, the EEA, or the UK for now, and phones are still being tested.
The two plans are US$39 a month for up to 25 people at once and US$69 for up to 50; adding a member costs nothing. The first 50 spaces on a paid plan keep their price (before tax) for as long as the subscription continues. There is no sales team, so nobody will call you; support is by email. Details are at /en/#pricing and /en/#faq.
What to check before you pick one
- What is counted, and what happens at the limit. Five of the eight pages do not state a limit on people inside at once, so ask. Teamflow states 200 per floor and SoWork about 150 per floor; WorkAdventure’s Free plan refuses anyone beyond 10; Hotori lets 2 extra in and then shows “full”.
- What the trial turns into. A reduced workspace (Gather: one admin at a time; Kumospace: members demoted to guests, with up to 5 promoted back), a charge to the card on file (Kumospace’s help center), or a paused space that waits until you pick a plan (Hotori).
For these numbers next to the other tools, with sources, see Compare pricing.
Company and product names are trademarks of their respective owners. Hotori is not affiliated with them.
Sources
- Pricing (Gather Presence Inc.) — https://www.gather.town/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Understanding Gather’s pricing changes (2025) (Gather) — https://support.gather.town/articles/2500085119-understanding-gather-s-pricing-changes-2025 (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Free Trial FAQs (Gather) — https://support.help.gather.town/articles/6550936801-free-trial-faqs (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Start & Manage Subscription (Gather) — https://support.help.gather.town/articles/4876514502-start-manage-subscription (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Pricing (Kumospace) — https://www.kumospace.com/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Frequently Asked Questions About Pricing (Kumospace) — https://www.kumospace.com/help/pricing-faq (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Pricing (SoWork) — https://www.sowork.com/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Virtual Workspace Pricing (Teamflow) — https://www.teamflowhq.com/virtual-office-pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Pricing (Roam HQ) — https://ro.am/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Pricing (Spot Virtual) — https://spotvirtual.com/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Pricing (WorkAdventure) — https://workadventu.re/pricing/ (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Pricing, Virtual Office tab (SpatialChat) — https://spatial.chat/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Teemyco Pricing (Teemyco by SpatialChat) — https://teemyco.com/pricing (retrieved October 30, 2026)
- Hotori pricing and FAQ — https://hotoriplace.com/en/ (as published on October 30, 2026)
- Where a pricing page shows the yearly rate by default (Gather, Kumospace, SoWork), the monthly rate is the one the same page shows with monthly billing selected.